Libertarian Ramblings

The government’s most blatant act of slavery

Posted by gravisman on July 1, 2008

I was reading this argument against the Supreme Court’s recent decision on D.C.’s handgun ban when I felt it necessary to comment on one of the laws I’ve always found most perplexing: it’s illegal to commit suicide. WTF? 

If I own a television set, I’m perfectly within my rights to break it. If I own my refrigerator I’m perfectly within my rights to unplug it. If I own a pig I’m perfectly within my rights to kill it. If I own my own life I’m perfectly within my rights to break it, to unplug it, or to kill it, right? The answer is, unequivacably, YES. The problem is, the government has never been of the belief that you own your own life!

You are a citizen, and as such the government views you as a piece of its property – a pawn in its games, both international and domestic, for power. You may notice that it can be perfectly legal for the government to kill you in different scenarios, whether at the hand of police or the courts. Since the government thinks it owns your life, that seems perfectly reasonable. Any attempt to end your life by anyone other than the government – including yourself – is seen as an attempt to steal the government’s property, and thus it intervenes with its legal forces.

The idea of the government claiming ownership over people’s lives in this manner is horrendous, especially when viewed with the realization that we are born into this country and this government without ever having a choice about it. We could not be given a chance to consent to a life of citizenry and governance before we are thrust into this life, and yet even after the choice is made for us and we are capable of choosing for ourselves, the option of revoking consent is deemed illegal.

It is clear what is going on. We are slaves to the government toward the end of continued economic production, military power, and physical reproduction so that the government maintains a steady supply of slaves. Couple this with the illegality of vagrancy and we see the full circle: it’s illegal to leave life, and it’s illegal to do nothing with it. In this way the government drives its slaves toward continued achievement of its ends.

3 Responses to “The government’s most blatant act of slavery”

  1. Steve said

    it’s not illegal to do nothing with your life, the government pays plenty of low-lifes that don’t have jobs; it’s called welfare.

    In response to the government having control over our lives, they would argue that they offer us protection, security and things of the like, hence our taxes, and we are thus in debt to them for it and must obey the laws to get its continued protection. This is actually the igniter for the Revolutionary War; Britain began strongly taxing the colonies to pay for the French and Indian War because they felt they were protecting their people, who thus needed to pay for their service to them.

    This is where I think it’s interesting that you stated the government feels it owns its people, because this is exactly what Britain and even the rest of the world thought of the colonies, until they started making a real impact 2 or 3 years into the war when they were recognized as a government. Before then they were terroristic rebels to their government.

    I’ve heard of a few states thinking of ceceeding from the union on their next ballot. I’m interested to see how this pans out.

  2. gravisman said

    I think you’re about right on the government’s perspective. The problem with the government stance is that it can’t really claim to have gotten your consent to governance in the first. To me, this is one of the fundamental flaws of governance and governmental theory. Citizens are born into a world where they don’t own their lives, and never actually able to choose to simply be independent – their ancestors made the choice for them, and that’s not fair.

  3. jtmarquis71 said

    Bravo, Gravisman! Couldn’t agree with you more. Land of the Free(?) and Home of the Brave. Hmmm. Well, you’ve certainly got to be brave to be an American in the new millenium. Thanks so much for the add, Gravisman, and I’ve reciprocated with permanent link back to you. Sounds like we have a lot in common. All my best. J.T.

Leave a Reply

 
